The third batch of CBS students has received offers from leading national and international universities and research institutes.

  • Mohanish Borana: European Research Council PhD at University of Edinburgh (UK), University of Minnesota (USA), University of Massachusetts (USA), University of Melbourne (Australia), National University of Singapore (Singapore)
  • Amit Seta: Max Planck Institute for Astronomy (Germany), Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy (Germany), Leiden University (Netherland)
  • Aklant Kumar Bhowmick: Carnegie Mellon University (USA), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (India), International Centre for Theoretical S ciences-TIFR (India)
  • Saranyo Moitra: Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (India), International Centre for Theoretical Sciences-TIFR (India)
  • Kriti Gupta: Shell-NWO Computational Science PhD program at University of Twente (Netherland)
  • Angana Mondal: University of Tennessee (USA), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (India)
  • Santwana Dubey: GSI (Germany)
  • Shashank Pathak: State University of New York (USA)
  • Shashank Markhande: Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (India)
  • Navneeta Katyan: Institute for Plasma Research (India)
  • Ram Shila: National Board for Higher Mathematics (DAE) PhD Fellowship
  • Shilpi Singh: Aalto University (Finland)
  • Naveen Kumar: Chennai Mathematical Institute (India)
  • Gholam Wahid: UM-DAE Centre For Excellence in Basic Sciences

September 2015

Prof. R.V. Hosur, Director CEBS, has been conferred the Distinguished Alumnus Award by IIT-Bombay for the year 2015. Director, IIT-Bombay, presented the award to Prof. Hosur on 10th March 2015 during the Foundation Day Function.

March 2015


UM-DAE Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences 'Nalanda', Opp Nano Sciences Building, University of Mumbai, Vidyanagari, Mumbai 400098, India.
Phone: 91-22-26532132
Telefax: 022-26532134
General Enquiries:
Website Related:
About Us

CBS was set up by the Department of Atomic Energy and the University of Mumbai in 2007. CBS offers a 5 year integrated MSc program in Basic Sciences, with undergraduate teaching embedded in a postgraduate and research environment, for students who have completed 10+2 schooling or its equivalent.
Copyright © 2014 Webmaster, Centre For Excellence in Basic Sciences. All Rights Reserved.