academic-calender

UNIVERSITY OF MUMBAI – DEPARTMENT OF ATOMIC ENERGY CENTRE FOR EXCELLENCE IN BASIC SCIENCES, MUMBAI

(An Autonomous Institute under Department of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India)

Academic Calendar for the Year 2019 - 2020 

Admission to First Year Integrated M. Sc. Course

Counselling and Admission

Open

Admission for KVPY and Olympiad Students

1 July 2019 (Monday) to 14 August 2019 (Wednesday)

Last date of Admission (against vacancies, if any)

14 August 2019 (Wednesday)

Autumn Semester (August to December, 2019)

Last date of Registration and selection of courses

31 July, 2019 (Wednesday)

Late registration (with Dean’s permission and by paying fine) *

14 August 2019 (Wednesday)

Commencement of Teaching

1 August 2019 (Thursday)

Mid-Semester Examination

23 September 2019 (Monday) to 30 September 2019 (Monday)

Teaching starts after Mid-Semester Examination

1 October 2019 (Tuesday)

Completion of Teaching of Autumn Semester

21 November 2019 (Thursday)

End-Semester Examination

Laboratory

15 November 2019 (Friday) to 21 November 2019 (Thursday)

Theory

22 November 2019 (Friday) to 30 November 2019 (Saturday)

Presentation of Project Reports

2 December 2019 (Monday) to 16 December 2019 (Monday)

Winter Vacation

1 December 2019 (Sunday) to 31 December 2019 (Tuesday)

Announcement of Results

3 January 2020 (Friday)

Spring Semester (January to April, 2020)

Last date of Registration and selection of courses

31 December 2019 (Tuesday)

Late registration (with Dean’s permission and by paying fine) *

7 January 2020 (Tuesday)

Commencement of Teaching

1 January 2020 (Wednesday)

Mid-Semester Examination

22 February 2020 (Saturday) to 29 February 2020 (Saturday)

Teaching starts after Mid-Semester Examination

2 March 2020 (Monday)

Completion of Teaching of Autumn Semester

17 April 2020 (Friday)

End-Semester Examination

Laboratory

13 April 2020 (Monday) to 20 April 2020 (Monday)

Theory

22 April 2020 (Wednesday) to 30 April 2020 (Thursday)

Presentation of Project Reports

1 May 2020 (Friday) to 8 May 2020 (Friday)

Summer Vacation

2 May 2020 (Saturday) to 31 July 2020 (Friday)

Announcement of Results

3 June, 2020 (Wednesday)

Summer Semester (May – July, 2020)

Summer Project

11 May 2020 (Monday) to 13 July 2020 (Monday)

Last date for application requesting re-examination to Dean’s office

10 June 2020 (Wednesday)

Date of Re-examination

20 July 2020 (Monday) – 24 July 2020 (Friday)

*Students registering late will have no option for choosing elective.

List of Holidays (August 2019 – July 2020)

Day

Holiday

Day

Holiday

Day

Holiday

12 August 2019 (Monday)

Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid)

27 October 2019 (Sunday)

Diwali (Deepavali)

10 March 2020 (Tuesday)

Holi

15 August 2019 (Thursday)

Independence Day

10 November 2019 (Sunday)

Id-E-Milad

06 April 2020 (Monday)

Mahavir Jayanti

02 September 2019 (Monday)

Ganesh Chaturthi

12 November 2019 (Tuesday)

Guru Nanak Jayanti

10 April 2020 (Friday)

Good Friday

10 September 2019 (Tuesday)

Muharram

25 December 2019 (Wednesday)

Christmas Day

30 April 2020 (Thursday)

Buddha Purnima

02 October 2019 (Wednesday)

Gandhi Jayanti

26 January 2020 (Sunday)

Republic Day

25 May 2020 (Monday)

Idu’l Fitr

08 October 2019 (Tuesday)

Dussehra

21 February 2020 (Friday)

Maha Shivratri

31 July 2020 (Friday)

Bakr Id

 

Address

UM-DAE Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences
"Nalanda", Opp Nano Sciences Building,
University of Mumbai, Vidyanagari,
Mumbai 400098, India.
Phone: 91-22-26532132
Telefax: 022-26532134
General Enquiries: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Website Related: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About Us

CBS was set up by the Department of Atomic Energy and the University of Mumbai in 2007. CBS offers a 5 year integrated MSc program in Basic Sciences, with undergraduate teaching embedded in a postgraduate and research environment, for students who have completed 10+2 schooling or its equivalent.